Lions, Dragon and Fairies, oh my!

What do a 200-ft-long dragon, a half-dozen lions, and a few fairies have in common? They’re all handcrafted life-sized fabric and light structures on display at the Chinese Lantern Festival in Franklin Square in Philadelphia.

Philadelphia-Chinese-Lantern-Festival-Fairies

What do a 200-ft-long dragon, a half-dozen lions, and a few fairies have in common? They’re all handcrafted life-sized fabric and light structures on display at the Chinese Lantern Festival in Franklin Square in Philadelphia. I came across these glowing lanterns on an evening walk around the city in early June.

Not one for crowds I debated whether it was worth the 20-minute wait and $17 admission fee to enter the gates. But as I stood in line and listened to the Asian music flowing over the Square’s brick walls and peered through the trees at the tops of the massive displays I decided that I couldn’t walk away from such an unusual event.

There were displays of zodiac creatures, and mythological creatures, and monkeys and even a glowing ocean display. Amidst the displays, food vendors served traditional Chinese cuisine, and Chinese dancers, acrobats and plate spinners entertained Festival attendees.

It was well worth the $17 and the 20 minutes.

Click here to learn more about the Chinese Lantern Festival.

 

Author: Alexis Hartz

KEEP MOVING. CHANGE LANES LATER. In five short words, this is the story of my life. This is what I write about. And it’s what I laugh about. I’m blazing my own trail and reinventing myself along the way. I’m becoming brave.

Leave a Reply

